Travel & accommodation


Hamilton island is accessible by air (the airport is HTI), with direct flights from Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, and Cairn via three carriers: Qantas, Jetstar, and Virgin Australia. More information is available on the Hamilton Island website.

Visa information

Please note that ALL travellers to Australia, other than Australian and New Zealand citizens, are legally required to hold a valid visa to travel to Australia.

Many participants will be from countries that qualify for an e-visa or Electronic Travel Authority (ETA). The applications for these visas must be made online (available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week), and are usually processed very quickly. However you must obtain your VISA or ETA before leaving your home country.

For E-Visa, (sub class 651), there is no charge for passport holders from the EU and a number of European countries. E-visa is available to passport holders from Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Republic of San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Vatican City (Holy See).

There is a small fee for an ETA (~AUD$20). Passport holders from Brunei - Darussalam, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Republic of (South) Korea, or the United States should visit the ETA website. For complete information, please see the Australian Government website.


GWADW 2017 has reserved a block of rooms at the conference venue, the Reef View Hotel. These are double-queen rooms available at a special conference rate of $280 AUD per night. Please book early to ensure you get a room! Booking should be done directly with the hotel, using this booking form (PDF, 2.5MB). Fax the form to the number at the top of the second page, or email to

Updated:  19 May 2024/ Responsible Officer:  Director RSPE/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster